Is It Just Me…Or Am I Getting Old

Last Thanksgiving I decided that I had enough of spending hours every month to color my hair, only to have silver/gray roots back in only a week. Add on top of that the aggravation of spending extra time in the morning to make sure my eyebrows (which were already silver) matched my hair. I received a lot of negative feedback on this idea from friends and family members alike. Maybe they just didn’t like the idea of being seen with an old broad.

My husband couldn’t decide if this was a good idea or a bad one. On one hand I think he didn’t mind the idea of gray hair on his wife. After all, who hits on gray-haired old ladies. On the other hand, he is 3 years younger than I am and still has a full head of (mostly) blond hair. Was it worth the $30 a month in savings to be seen with his “old lady”? He wasn’t sure. My friend Ann was upset because she has been cutting and coloring my hair for over 15 years and didn’t want to think about how much time she’d wasted on that project. My kids didn’t care since what difference does it make what your mother looks like when she’s already old.  That last quote came directly from my 15 year old son. Always the truth sayer  in our family.

So I colored my hair for the last time in November and a blog was born. OK, so it took me almost 6 months to get started, but with a full-time job, 3 dogs, 2 kids still at home and aforementioned husband it took a little while. But here I am, 5 months later with my first post. And unfortunately for anyone who reads this; this will not be my last. Although most of my career has been spent as a writer, I have only recently begun to write about or even express my opinion. But that is  6 months of therapy and a whole ‘nother blog post away. For now I’d like to wish everyone a Happy Easter! And let’s hope Spring gets to the Midwest soon. I’m freezing!!!

Leave a Reply

