Spring Cleaning

I confess, I watched the Royal Wedding…on DVR. This means I I was able to fast-forward through all time-wasting commentary and commercials and go straight to the good stuff.  And by “good stuff” I mean the dress and the ceremony. I felt obligated to watch it since I got up early in 1981 as an unemployed recent college grad to watch the wedding of Charles and Diana. You’re probably wondering what any of this has to do with spring cleaning. It doesn’t really, except that as I was finally unpacking boxes from our move 4 years ago I found the following picture.

Yup, that's me at the ripe old age of 26 on my wedding day on October 11, 1986.

Most people probably have a picture or two from their wedding lying around their house; if not the whole album. Guess what? I’m not most people. As a matter of fact, I have very few pictures of myself at all and I don’t have I a clue where my wedding album ran off to. This might mean I’m not happily married, but since I don’t know what “Happily Married” looks like I don’t usually worry about it. So I cried a few tears during Will and Kate’s wedding. I wished them well in their life’s journey and I moved on to more spring cleaning.

And boy am I glad I finally got around to this. Not only did I find this picture, but I found a family photo album from 2004 that was almost complete and all of my “lost” cookbooks. My family is excited as well since most of their favorite recipes have not been on the menu for quite some time. On Sunday I made the first of “The Lost Favorites” as my kids call them. The Lasagna from my 1986 version of Betty Crocker’s Cookbook did not turn out as we remembered it. I put my husband in charge of the ingredients and except for the Italian sausage from Jewel, he bought generic ricotta and mozzarella cheese. That will teach him to to not buy EXACTLY what I put on the shopping list.

Today, in between doctor’s appointments I managed to make Hungarian Goulash from the Southern Living Slow Cooker Cookbook. Since tonight is bowling and NJROTC night, I only made the slow-cooker portion of the recipe. Tomorrow I’ll heat it in the oven, add the sour cream and serve it with hot, buttered noodles. Another meal in the can, so to speak. If I can snap a picture of it before it’s devoured tomorrow I’ll post it with the recipe.

Time to head off to bed. But before I do, am I the only one who feel sad that Osama Bin Laden’s young daughter and wife were witness to his death? Let’s send a prayer to God or Allah, or whomever you worship that they will get over their trauma and be able to move on.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. BoilerAlchemist
    May 05, 2011 @ 04:43:04

    I felt a bit sad in general that the death of Bin Laden was so widely celebrated to the tune of “Ding-Dong, Bin Laden is dead”. Aside from satisfying our decade-long vendetta against a genuinely misguided, possibly evil man; what exactly is there to celebrate? Another “Mission Accomplished”? Call me jaded, but I think we should spend less time celebrating and more time on the lookout for a brutal reprisal from Al Qaida.

    Did he need to be stopped? Yes. Was the only way to stop him killing him? Most likely. All the same, it was tragic that his family witnessed it. I think we all sometimes forget that a terrorist’s family does not necessarily choose to be there, much like how a pedophile’s family suffers for the crimes of their brother, husband, son, or father here in America. We cannot choose our family, although many of us sometimes wish we could.

    By the way; I greatly miss that lasagna recipe, and the multitude of others that have vanished. Did you find the chicken and dumplings in golden gravy yet? That’s a gem!

    Reply

  2. Allison @ Runs A Latte
    May 07, 2011 @ 03:16:56

    I love seeing your wedding picture! You look gorgeous! 🙂 Isn’t it great when you find “lost” things? I know because I lose absolutely everything!

    I actually woke up at 3 am and watched royal coverage until 8 am the next morning. My aunt, cousin and myself had a bit of an early morning sleepover party. It was an awesome excuse to eat crazy amounts of food and drink in the middle of the night!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

