This Is Spinal Tap

Several posts ago I mentioned the migraine headaches I’ve been getting for the last three months and my hope that this was just another one of those annoying symptoms of “menopause”. After a number of tests and two MRI’s I found out a week ago that I had three lesions in my brain of 5 cm’s each. When my neurologist first suggested an MRI, neither of us expected anything to show up. She had already done an exam to make sure I didn’t have Alzheimer’s, MS or other neurological disorders. So it was a huge surprise to both of us to get this abnormal MRI.

So starting a week ago Monday, I had a more extensive exam for MS as well as Carpal Tunnel Syndrome. I also had another MRI to make sure I didn’t have any lesions in my upper spine. The good news  was that the lesions weren’t in my spine and I don’t have Carpal Tunnel Syndrome. The scary thing about this though was that I had to have a lumbar puncture.  In other words…a Spinal Tap. Now there’s a word that inspires fear; or laughter, depending on what side of the fence you’re on. I’ve chosen to look on the mockumentary side of the issue.

First, a few words about the actual spinal tap procedure. I made the appointment for the spinal tap a week ago along with tests for hearing and balance.  All of these tests required a few days of prep which included drinking 3 quarts of water, avoiding pain killers, allergy meds, sleeping pills and Xanax. Needless to say the weekend was not a lot of fun. Between the itchy eyes and two days of sleeplessness, I finally had the spinal tap today. And you know what? It wasn’t that bad. In fact, the worst part is for the next 24 hours where I have to lie at a 45 degree angle and sit still as much as possible. I’m bored already. I have to do this to equalize the pressure in my spine. If  I don’t do this then I run the risk of excruciating migraines; which is kind of funny since that’s the reason I was sent to the neurologist in the first place.

Tomorrow is my last test and I hope to have a diagnosis by Friday. In the meantime, I like to count my blessings. My family is healthy and my guess is that any issues with my brain are purely mental. Let’s turn life up to ELEVEN!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Allison @ Runs A Latte
    May 11, 2011 @ 02:07:51

    I’m so glad that the procedure wasn’t too bad! I was thinking about you today!

    I totally forgot about the laying down part. I wouldn’t mind some of that!

    Reply

  2. Kathryn
    May 17, 2011 @ 00:45:31

    Glad it wasn’t as horrible as they all say- hope you’re feeling a bit better and that the test results came through okay.

    Reply

Leave a comment